Skip to content


Governmental Affairs and Policy Committee and SACA

To recommend Chamber policy to the Board To influence the process and policy of the government in the context of goals and objectives of the Taber & District Chamber of Commerce.

Chair:  Joanne Sorensen, Bruce Warkentin, John Turcato, Carly Firth

Join Economic Development Committee

To represent the agricultural and industrial sectors, with a focus on economic development and sustainable economic viability.
To increase membership
To determine how the Chamber could better serve this sector.
To represent the Chamber on the Downtown Improvement, to promote economic development in Taber & District by attracting new businesses, as well as encouraging retention and expansion of exiting businesses.  Promote tourism and businesses in Taber & District.

Chair: Rick Popadynetz, John Turcato, Chase DeSchover

Member Services/Local First TDCC

To identify and respond to the changing needs of the membership of the Chamber and to increase that membership.  Member services, such as value added programs, the directory, Member McMuggings and the ‘In Business Together Program’ will be handled through this committee.

Chair: Joanne Sorensen, Travis Tams, Dave Klassen, Bruce Warkentin

Finance Committee

To monitor and influence the financial status of the Chamber of Commerce to achieve its goals and objectives.

Chair: Bruce Warkentin, Jared Bell

Employee Review Committee - Office Coordination & Tourist Information Center

To assist the Chamber staff in communicating the ongoing activities of the Chamber Executive, Board of Directors and Committees in a professional manner.

Chair: Bruce Warkentin, Jared Bell, Matt Peleskey

Special Events Committees

Each special event committee will be responsible to coordinate all of the particulars required by that event with the help and direction of the Chamber Staff.  Each committee must provide a budget to be approved by the Board of Directors and the Finance Committee, and utilize the resources of the Chamber office and the Chamber membership.  Minutes of all committee meetings must be presented to the Chamber office as soon as possible following meetings to keep the staff current with a projects and information.

Fundraising Committee/ Tables & Chairs

This committee will organize any additional Fundraisers that the Chamber will do.

Chair: Bruce Warkentin, Carly Firth, Joanne Sorensen

Annual Dinner

Held in January of each year, this event is to recognize nominees and winners of The Small Business of the Year award as well as The Outstanding Business of the Year award.
ChairMatt Peleskey, Travis Tams, Joanne Sorensen, Jared Bell, Malinda Harris


This is possibly the biggest event that the Chamber puts together.  It is meant to be a fun filled festival outdoors that attracts many people in attendance.  This is free to all who attend, and the funding to put on this event is obtained through sponsorships from local business.  We strive to make this event bigger and better each year.

Chair: Jared Bell, Rick Popadynetz, Tom Paterson, Tom Machacek, Mark Garner, Stacy Peleskey, Tod Pickerell, Joanne Sorensen, Bruce Warkentin, Elisha Willis, Malinda Harris, Travis Tams, John Turcato, Carly Firth

Taber Winter Festival

This has evolved over the years to include many free family fun activities such as swimming, skating, bowling, gymnastics, etc.  Along with this we started a Passport to Christmas Shop local program where people collect a stamp on a 'passport' for every $10 spent in participating businesses.  Once the passport is full they can hand it in for the $1000 Chamber Bucks grand prize.  We also host a Best Decorated Businesses contest for the last two weeks of November where businesses who chose to participate can place pictures on a Facebook group and people vote on the best through an online poll.

Chair: Bruce Warkentin, Travis Tams, Joanne Sorensen, Amy Allred, Matt Peleskey


This committee is responsible to organize and put together the annual Parade that is held in August every year along with Cornfest.  They are responsible for attracting entertainment and floats from both local and out of town businesses and groups.

Chair:  Harry Prummel, Chase DeSchover, Malinda Harris